The 2019/20 UEFA Europa League’s remaining matches will be played as a straight knockout tournament, UEFA has confirmed. 

Just like the Champions League, the competition will be staged across four cities in Germany: Cologne, Duisburg, Düsseldorf, and Gelsenkirchen this August, with the ties played as single-leg fixtures.

A decision is however pending on whether or not the Round of 16 second legs will take place at the home team’s stadium or in Germany at the aforementioned cities.

The above ruling will also apply to the matches where ties of the first leg were postponed, namely; Inter vs Getafe and Sevilla vs Roma.

The tournament was in the Round of 16 when the coronavirus pandemic struck, forcing all matches to be suspended since Thursday,12 March. 

2019/20 UEFA Europa League schedule

  • 5–6 August: Round of 16 (venues to be confirmed)
  • 10–11 August: Quarter-finals (Cologne, Duisburg, Düsseldorf, Gelsenkirchen)
  • 16–17 August: Semi-finals (venues to be confirmed)21 August: Final (Cologne)

The quarter-final and semi-final draws will be held in Nyon on 10 July, with the exact match schedule expected to follow.  

Remaining fixtures;

  • Sevilla vs Roma
  • Inter Milan vs Getafe
  • Manchester United vs LASK (5-0)
  • Basel vs Frankfurt (3-0)
  • Copenhagen vs İstanbul Başakşehir (0-1)
  • Shakhtar Donetsk vs Wolfsburg (2-1)
  • Leverkusen vs Rangers (3-1)
  • Wolves vs Olympiacos (1-1)



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.