Europa League quarterfinals kick off on Monday in Germany as seven games in 12 days decide the winner of the 2019-20 competition.

The winners will ensure a Champions League spot for next season.

Manchester United open the last-8 duels with a tie against Denmark’s FC Copenhagen with the winner of this one-off encounter proceeding to the semis. The other quarterfinal set for Monday will see Inter Milan take on Bayer Leverkusen.

Another English Premier League side Wolves will also be in quarter-final action against Sevilla on Tuesday. The two Premier League sides will meet in a semi-final in Cologne on 17 August if they both come through their quarter-finals. The final is in the same city on 21 August.

The other quarterfinalists include Ukraine (Shakhtar Donetsk), Switzerland (Basel), Denmark (FC Copenhagen), Italy (Inter Milan), Germany (Bayer Leverkusen) and Spain (Sevilla) are represented in the quarter-finals.

Teams from Spain and England have won the past eight Europa League finals – Atletico Madrid (2012, 2018), Chelsea (2013, 2019), Sevilla (2014, 2015, 2016) and Manchester United (2017).

Teams will be able to make five substitutions but, to limit the number of stoppages, they will only be allowed to make these changes at three points in the game.

One additional substitution will be allowed in extra time.

Full quarterfinals pairings and schedule:

10 Aug

  • Man Utd v FC Copenhagen Cologne (10.00pm)
  • Inter Milan v Bayer Leverkusen (10.00 pm)

    11 Aug
  • Shakhtar Donetsk v Basel (10.00pm)
  • Wolves v Sevilla (10.00pm)

16 Aug

  • Semi-final 1

17 Aug

  • Semi-final 2

21 Aug

  • Final

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.